Alcohol, Minors, and Illinois Law
In Illinois, as in all other states, 21 is the minimum age for the legal consumption of alcohol. This law is intended to protect minors, who are considered too young to make responsible choices about when, where, and how often to drink. When minors are arrested for possessing or consuming alcoholic beverages, there are steep penalties for them and any adults who may have assisted them.
If your child has been accused of underage drinking or a related offense, his or her freedom, finances, and future options could all be at stake. You need a committed and reliable Champaign criminal defense attorney. Call the offices of Bruno Law Offices today at (217) 328-6000.
Criminal Offenses for Minors and Adults
Minors are prohibited from possessing, purchasing, or consuming alcoholic beverages. If they do so, they can be charged with an offense such as:
- Underage consumption or possession of alcohol – Punishable by a fine up to $500 and/or up to 30 days in jail
- Underage possession of alcohol on public property, road, or highway – Punishable by a fine up to $500 and/or up to 6 months in jail (with additional penalties for having an open container of alcohol in a motor vehicle)
- Fraudulent use of identification to obtain alcohol – Punishable by a fine of $250 or 24 hours of community service
Adults who provide alcohol to minors can also face penalties, including:
- Selling or serving alcohol to minors at a place of business – A fine between $500 and $1,000 and/or up to one year in jail
- Allowing minors to consume alcohol at a private residence – A fine between $500 and $1,000 and/or up to one year in jail
- Purchasing alcohol legally, then giving it to minors – A fine between $500 and $1,000 and/or up to one year in jail
As you can see, the state of Illinois takes underage drinking very seriously. If you have been accused of purchasing alcohol for minors, our Champaign underage drinking defense attorneys can help you protect your legal rights.
When facing criminal accusations, it is important to have a legal representative you can rely on. Contact the Champaign DUI defense lawyers of Bruno Law Offices at (217) 328-6000.