DUI in Illinois
Wherever you are in the United States, it is a crime to operate a motorized vehicle while under the influence of any drug – most notably, alcohol. If you decide to drive your car after having one too many drinks, then you run the risk of being involved in a dangerous automobile accident. Because of this, Illinois DUI law is quite strict. Those caught driving with blood alcohol content (BAC) levels above the legal limit of 0.08% will face very grave penalties.
The punishment you will face for your DUI conviction will vary depending on your specific circumstances. If this is your first or second offense and no one was harmed by your actions, then you will be charged with a misdemeanor. The associated penalties may include any of the following:
- A jail sentence of up to one year
- A fine of up to $2,500
- License suspension for up to one year
- Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device in your personal vehicle
- Suspension of your automobile registration
- Mandatory community service
The above, however, include the maximum charges you could face. It is possible that your punishment will not include all of these items.
Those who are arrested for their third (or any subsequent) DUI offense will be charged with a Category 4 felony. They will face a prison sentence of up to 6 years, driver’s license suspension for up to 6 years, and a fine of up to $10,000.
If you have been charged with driving under the influence, then you will need an experienced and qualified criminal defense attorney to protect your rights. The Champaign-Urbana DUI defense lawyers of Bruno Law Offices can help you. To speak with us about your situation, contact our law offices today at (217) 328-6000.