Champaign DUI Defense Lawyers
Being convicted of DUI is a serious issue. A DUI conviction remains a red mark on your criminal record for years. If you have been pulled over and charged with DUI, then you face a number of costly and difficult consequences.
Avoid the complications associated with a DUI conviction. Enlist the help of the Champaign and Urbana DUI defense lawyers of Bruno Law Offices to get the legal protection you need. Contact us today at (217) 328-6000 to schedule a free initial consultation.
We Can Help You
A DUI conviction can be considered either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on your particular circumstances. DUIs that result in significant harm to another person and a third DUI charge within a 7 year time frame are both considered to be felonies.
If you have been arrested and accused of either of the following, then the Champaign DUI defense lawyers of Bruno Law Offices can help:
Call us at (217) 328-6000 today to learn more about how you can protect yourself against being convicted for these offenses.
Penalties for Driving Under the Influence
Driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) is an offense that the state of Illinois does not take lightly. First and second DUI offenders face a prison sentence of up to one year, a fine of up to $2,500 and driver’s license revocation of up to 5 years.
Felony DUI offenders, which includes those charged with their third DUI and those who have significantly harmed another person while driving under the influence, face graver consequences. These people can face fines of up to $10,000, up to three years in prison and driver’s license revocation for up to six years.
DUI charges can result in the loss of your driver’s license, mandatory jail time, and immense fines. To protect yourself from these penalties, contact the Champaign DUI defense lawyers of Bruno Law Offices today at (217) 328-6000.
Are breathalyzers accurate?
Not always. Police officers often rely on breathalyzers and trust them to provide an accurate reading of a driver’s blood alcohol concentration. However, breathalyzer inaccuracies happen more often than we think. Sadly, a breathalyzer inaccuracy can have devastating effects on a person’s life. A breathalyzer test is rarely questioned; the results are taken as fact and if the machine determines that a person’s BAC is above the legal limit of .08%, then the individual can face severe consequences. If you were given a breathalyzer test that you believe provided law enforcement with incorrect results, be sure to contact a lawyer. An experienced DUI lawyer will be able to evaluate your case and determine your best legal options.
What are the penalties for a DUI?
The state of Illinois does not take DUI charges lightly, and offenders can face serious consequences. A first time DUI offense is considered a class A misdemeanor and offenders may face up to one year in prison. Additionally, a first time DUI offender will likely have their driver’s license suspended for six months, as an administrative penalty. A DUI conviction can also carry a fine between $500 and $2,5000. The penalties for a DUI will greatly increase for any repeat offenses. If you are facing DUI charges, be sure to contact an attorney right away for the best chances of reducing or dropping your charges.
What should I do if I’ve been charged with a DUI?
One important step you can take after a DUI arrest is to gather information. The more notes you take about the events leading up to and following your arrest, the easier it will be for your attorney to to create an effective defense strategy for you. Next, you will need to hire an experienced attorney. A tough DUI attorney will be able to walk you through the daunting legal process and provide you with all your best options. To speak with an knowledgeable attorney, contact our offices today by calling (217) 328-6000.