Illinois Implied Consent Laws
Individuals suspected of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol are often asked to submit to a chemical test to objectively determine their blood alcohol content. These tests are desirable, from the state’s point of view, because they provide clear evidence of an individual’s level of intoxication, making criminal prosecution simpler. For this reason, all Illinois drivers are legally required to submit to a chemical test if asked by a law enforcement official.
If you or someone you know has been arrested for DUI or another alcohol-related offense, it is important that you have effective legal representation in order to ensure that your rights and interests are fully protected. Contact the Champaign DUI defense lawyers of Bruno Law Offices at (217) 328-6000 to discuss the details of your case with a qualified member of our legal team.
Penalties for Refusing Chemical Tests
In the state of Illinois, a driver who violates implied consent laws by refusing to submit to a chemical test may be subject to the following penalties:
- License suspension for up to 1 year for first-time offenders
- License suspension for up to 3 years for second offenders
These consequences of refusing to submit to a chemical test can have a significant impact on an individual’s lifestyle and ability to maintain employment.
If you have been arrested for DUI, an experienced legal professional can help you fight the charges against you. Contact the Champaign DUI defense attorneys of Bruno Law Offices at (217) 328-6000 today to begin formulating your defense.