Possession of Marijuana in Illinois
Being accused of possession of marijuana is no walk in the park. It can affect your record, employment and educational opportunities, and can result in a long battle with the law. Even if someone has been prescribed marijuana to treat any kind of illness or ailment, he or she is not acting in accordance with Illinois law.
Possession of less than 30 grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor charge and can result in up to one year of jail time. The judge handling the case may issue a probation period lasting 24 months as a substitute for jail time. Like most other states, first offenses are treated less severely than repeated charges. Delivery of marijuana is also considered possession.
When convicted of possession of more than 30 grams of marijuana the accused will be charged with a felony. A first-time marijuana felony charge can result in 1-3 years of jail time. Other punishments include:
- 2 – 5 years in jail: Possession of 500 – 2,000 grams of marijuana
- 2 – 5 years in jail: Second offense of 30 – 500 grams of marijuana
- 3 – 7 years in jail: Possession of 2,000 – 5,000 grams of marijuana
- 4 – 15 years in jail: Possession of 5,000 or more grams of marijuana
All of these charges also automatically constitute a $25,000 fine.
If you or someone you know has been accused of possession of marijuana, contact the Champaign criminal defense lawyers of Bruno Law Offices at (217) 328-6000 to discuss your legal rights and options.