The various penalties for marijuana possession in Illinois
Under almost any circumstance, possession of marijuana is illegal in Illinois. For people convicted of marijuana possession, they face legal penalties that range depending on the amount of illegal substance in possession.
For instance, a person who is in possession of marijuana that weighs less than 2.5 grams could receive a Class C misdemeanor and face up to 30 days in jail and fines up to $2500, according to the Illinois criminal penalty code.
If you have been charged with marijuana possession, contact the Champaign-Urbana marijuana possession defense attorneys of Bruno Law Offices at 217-328-6000.